Greatest Captains

As part of the celebrations of the 125th Anniversary of The Football League, supporters across the country were given the chance to vote for their club's fans' favourite. 

The FL125 Greatest Captain voting shortlists were compiled from data submitted by Football League clubs, which was collected from fans through social media. Supporters were asked to submit their suggestions by interacting with their respective clubs through Twitter, using  and .

  Club Greatest Captains  
  AFC Wimbledon Dave Beasant  
  Birmingham City Stephen Carr  
  Blackburn Rovers Tim Sherwood  
  Bradford City Stuart McCall  
  Brentford Terry Evans  
  Brighton and Hove Albion Charlie Oatway  
  Bristol Rovers Stuart Campbell  
  Burnley Jimmy Adamson  
  Carlisle United Kevin Gray  
  Charlton Athletic Mark Kinsella  
  Cheltenham Town John Finnigan  
  Colchester United Karl Duguid  
  Crawley Town Pablo Mills  
  Dagenham and Redbridge Anwar Uddin  
  Derby County Igor Stimac  
  Doncaster Rovers Rob Jones  
  Exeter City Arnold Mitchell  
  Fleetwood Town Scott Davis  
  Gillingham Andy Hessenthaler  
  Hartlepool United Micky Barron  
  Huddersfield Town Peter Clarke  
  Ipswich Town Mick Mills  
  Leeds United Billy Bremner  
  Leicester City Steve Walsh  
  Middlesbrough Tony Mowbray  
  Millwall Barry Kitchener  
  Milton Keynes Dons Keith Andrews  
  Northampton Town Theo Foley  
  Notts County Phil Turner  
  Peterborough United Grant McCann  
  Plymouth Argyle Paul Wotton  
  Port Vale Roy Sproson  
  Portsmouth Reg Flewin  
  Preston North End Sir Tom Finney  
  Queens Park Rangers Gerry Francis  
  Rotherham United Kevin Watson  
  Scunthorpe United Andy Crosby  
  Sheffield United Chris Morgan  
  Sheffield Wednesday Nigel Pearson  
  Southend United Adam Barrett  
  Torquay United Chris Hargreaves  
  Tranmere Rovers Jim Harvey  
  Walsall Andy Butler  
  Watford John McClelland  
  Wigan Athletic Arjen De Zeeuw  
  Wolverhampton Wanderers Billy Wright